
September 2nd
Orientation day 2
Today went by much faster then yesterday. I wasn't sick this morning and nursed a read bull right up until noon. I sat a the end of a table today next to Mheart. I admire her tremendously. She's such a hard worker. She's absolutely kind. She is Christian....but she's a good one.
We completed a service project for united way which included dying over 200 t-shirts for Day of Caring. The AmeriCorps team was split in two teams A and B. Carrie is A, I am B. Team A did CPR the first part of the day while Team B worked on the shirts. I ended up on a table with Y, who is an awesome lady. She is kind, encouraging, hard worker and some one I think I will grow to admire as the year goes on. I also at the table was R....an older matter of fact lady who seems nice enough. I also got to work with M...who is a returning member from last year and one of those people who are fundamentally good.
Then there was lunch. I ate a table of people but concerned myself with my oatmeal and pretty much just stayed quiet unless I was addressed. This is me, this is my personality and I'm OK with it. I wish other people would be as well. But my director came over and asked me if something was wrong. That I was being quiet and not talking to people “as we talked about”. I don't remember that talk?
Anyway I told her that I was making connections and talking to people...but doing it on an individual level. She said she understands that. So hopefully she won't say anything else to me about it. Maybe I am more outgoing when I'm with Carrie. She gives me confidence. She's safe. If I have an awkward or otherwise unpleasant social interaction she provides the same kind of support a best friends standing by your side would give. Anyway...it annoyed me. Afterward I just continued eating my oatmeal.
Then Team A members did tie dye and team B second years planned a game while team B first years did first aid. I worked on the game with the second years (or returning members). On this team was the member I have yet to come up with an appropriate acronym for...for now we shall refer to her as “the mouth”. As always she tried to take control but came against a few personalities that were just as intense and opinionated as hers....I backed them completely:D I agreed with their points but it gave me gobs of pleasure to support everyone but her. I'm an ass like that. But she's keeps it going. The B.S that took place between returning members from last year and I has dissipated. I've laughed and conversed with the other 3 already. Simply by knocking off the nasty looks and comments that keep such pseudo feuds fueled...we have all come to a professional and even positive place in our coworkers relationships. NOT SO with the Mouth!
When that was over I went back to help with tie dye which had turned in to a royal mess! Eeek..the afternoon crew did a horrible job! Like they didn't give a shit about what they were doing. It made me sad.
Looking forward to next Tuesday:)
No comments:
Post a Comment