Thursday, September 8, 2011

Day 8: Orientation day 5

The day I had believed would not come, began yesterday and bleed in to today. I didn't mind orientation yesterday and even released a few sincere smiles. Today I would go so far as to say I enjoyed orientation.

This morning we finished going over the contract, went through "social Media" guidelines (rules and threats of termination would be the more appropriate title)and played a comical "name" game. Everyone seems to be getting a long so well!

One member mysteriously disappeared after the second day of orientation, and her replacement was hired today. She's very, very quiet.

During lunch Cherry and I ran to the clothing printers shop to see if we could get larger sizes in gear. This was such an unnecessary stress for both of us honestly. When we were first asked to come in and try on gear for sizing, Cherry (who is at least 2 sizes smaller then me.) tried on the largest size for which they had a sample. She could barely move her arms and zipping it up was far from an option. Well, obviously I didn't even try. This is the conversation that proceeded between me and the AmeriCorps support staff after witnessing Cherry's humiliation.

Me: Do you know what the largest size they come in is?
Support Staff: I don't know.
Me: I don't know what to do with that information.
Support Staff: You don't think a ::SIZE::: will fit?
Me: I know it won't. You don't have a list of sizes?
Support Staff: No, they didn't send one.
Me: Oh.
Support Staff: Stares at me with a perplexed and frustrated gaze.
Me: Well, I think we should save the money and just not order one. Because if it's too small I wouldn't be able to wear it and it would just be a waste.
Support Staff: Well you have to have one, your part of the team.
Me: I understand that. And I do want one. But I know how tight the budget is, and I feel like it would be a waste.
Support Staff: Well, you need to pick a size.
Me...frustrated and embarrassed: I don't know what to say. If you order it, and I can't wear it....
Support Staff: Stares
Me: I gotta go.


Today during lunch Cherry and I found out that we can get the sizes we need and even ordered black vests, and a polo that will fit me and her! I will be able to fit in with the rest of the team when we wear our polos this year. It's a nice feeling. Course, I have to pay for the polo even though had the Support Staff cared to research the available sizes (instead of telling me that the size I got was the biggest size they came in) I wouldn't have to spend my stipend money on this. O'well, at least I'll have gear that fits!

Gotta say that my feelings on this subject are still a bit sensitive. It really felt like the support staff and director were both simply unwilling to help with our situation. Whether this attitude was from simply not giving a shit or out of inconvenience...it was still hurtful. And had Cherry not had a slight emotional outburst about the situation in front of the entire team and the old director (who told her she needed to consult the new director)...I'm really not sure the current staff would have been so willing to be flexible. And I feel like I should add... I'm really quite fond of the support staff, which is why I'm more hurt then angry.

During the swear in today I reconnected with a second year member and began a positive relationship with a late first year hire.

This team has such a diverse group of individuals! I have high hopes for the team and our ability to mesh well.

No comments:

Post a Comment